The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards are Australia’s most prestigious school science and engineering awards. The finalists are the best and brightest student researchers and innovators in the country. The Awards also recognise teachers who engage students in the study of open-ended investigations and work consistently within their school community and wider professional arenas to make an outstanding contribution to science education in Australia. The Awards are a partnership between the BHP Foundation, CSIRO, the Australian Science Teachers Association including its federated State and Territory Association. Entry to the Awards is via nomination through the STANSW Young Scientist Awards.

With support from our Partners, we provide opportunities for the best Young Scientist entries to represent their state in these national awards. In the last 12 years, 70 Young Scientist award-winning projects have been selected as finalists in the national BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards, which includes an all-expenses trip to Melbourne to attend a four day science camp. 

More Info